Members of the council serve a term of three years and are confirmed by the executive vice president and provost. The council is composed of:

  • nine members, which must include one lecturer, appointed by the governing body of the faculty, currently the Faculty Senate;
  • four members appointed by the governing body of the students, currently joint nominations of the UISG and GPSG;
  • one member appointed by the governing body of the staff, currently the Staff Council; and 
  • the director of the Center for Teaching (ex-officio).

The Council is chaired by a faculty member selected by the president of the Faculty Senate.

Old Capitol

2021-2022 Council on Teaching Members

Laurie Croft
Clinical Professor, Teaching and Learning, College of Education

Maxwell Lei Geng
Professor, Chemistry, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Teri Hein 
Senior Director, HR Services

Samyukta Karthik
Undergraduate Student, Psychology, Pre-Med

David Keffala-Gerhard
Undergraduate Student, Biology, Philosophy, Ethics & Public Policy

Braden Krien
PhD Candidate, English

Michelle Larson
Lecturer, Statistics & Actuarial Sciences, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences 

Sean Newman
Graduate Student, Teaching and Learning

Bruce Nottingham-Spencer
Associate Professor of Instruction, Division of World Languages & Literature (German), College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Richard Peters
Associate Professor, Finance, Tippie College of Business 

Yolanda Spears
Clinical Assistant Professor , School of Social Work, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences 

Kristan Worthington
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering

Hanna Zembruska
Clinical Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine-Immunology, Carver College of Medicine 

Administrative Liaison:  Tanya Uden-Holman
Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education and Dean, University College 

Affiliated (non-voting)Anna Flaming
Interim Director, Center for Teaching

Administrative Staff:   Kimberly Nye
Administrative Services Specialist, Assistant to the Associate Provost for Faculty